Film in Black and White

Last year I had such a hard time with film. Film didn’t like me and I didn’t like film. There was even an incident in which I spent 8 hours in and out of the darkroom >.< That was traumatic.

So I stayed away from film for nearly a year.

Then all of the sudden I got to thinking on how I’ve been taking all of my pictures on digital . That’s kind of boring … all the excitement of seeing the pictures develop just doesn’t exist on digital.

And that’s why I decided to give film a second chance. (That and because I don’t want to fail my portrait photography class.)
I actually processed the film from the pictures you see here. It was so scary to have to do it again after a whole year!  What if the wrong amount of developer went in?  What if I accidently put in the stop bath too soon? So many things could have gone wrong.
I’m glad they didn’t. The pictures came out fine 🙂 This second print, I processed only once because it had come out so perfectly on the contact sheet.  With the first print,  the luck ran out. I ended up having to go back to the enlarger three times to make sure I had the best print possible.
Thanks to Sharla and Maureen for helping me out on such a short notice!

7 thoughts on “Film in Black and White

    1. Thanks!
      Yes, I definitely need to focus on lighting the subjects properly. especially outdoors.
      The original prints for these pictures have more contrast. I’m kinda bummed that the scanner didn’t capture them quite right. At first they looked sepia!

      Like

  1. Hi,

    I don’t think the lighting for your images is the issue, the technical composition is fine, maybe bounce the light in rather than lighting it directly?

    I think it’s the chemistry you have used or your darkroom technique which is giving a little bit too much grey. When you are next taking pictures of people try using a developer called Agfa rodinal which will give you a higher contrast and a sharp grain or possibly when you are printing try using a slightly higher filter. If you put a border on the image it will help the eye pick up the darker tones in the image and give a defined edge to the lighter tones.

    Keep up the good work and keep shooting to film.

    Anthony.

    Like

    1. Hey,
      Thanks for your advice!
      Yeah, I think I need to invest in a real photographer’s reflector. The one I used for these is a car reflector that I got in a hurry.
      It reflects wayyy too much light. Especially as seen in the first image.
      I will definitely keep “Agfa Rodinal” in mind and will try the border technique on my next project. I bet it’s gonna come in handy. The film came out very dark – but I’ll have to wait until I do my contact sheet. Ahh, fingers crossed!
      – JQ

      Like

  2. Hi Jacquie
    These look good to me. Don’t worry about film being difficult – it’s part of the attraction! I Still make a dogs breakfast of the odd roll after years of practice.
    Agree with the Rodinal suggestion, especially with Agfa APX100 if you can get hold of some.
    Good luck with the next project.

    Like

Leave a Reply

