Light Up the Night Sky

Pretty Night Sky 428

Some time age, Markus, Ben and I went out to take pictures of the stars. It didn’t go so well because the moon was ridiculously bright. In fact, many of the images resembled broad daylight. (Sometimes pictures do tell a thousand lies!)

The assignment was postponed when the teacher realized they’d forgotten to check their star charts. Turns out astrophotography is best done without a full celestial sphere!

As the moon shrunk, Ben was able to out to take pictures on a nightly basis. I followed him out to the cow pond for one last photo session of the stars.

Pretty Night Sky 429Although to the human eye the moon was only a sliver, in the images it came out in full.

After the moon set on the horizon,  the pictures were almost magical.

Pretty Night Sky 430

It was as if there were hundreds of tiny little fairies fluttering about looking down at the world below.  We took as many pictures as we could before I had to return to my dorm.

Pretty Night Sky 418Instead of going to bed, I got carried away and played around with the colors. For some weird reason, I got attached to the lomo photography color scheme.
Oh well, I still got the originals in case I change my mind.

Social Media:

 Facebook Square Chalky BlueFlickr PeachInstagram BluegreenPinterest RoseEmail Moss

 Thanks for the support ❤

Blog Signiture

46 thoughts on “Light Up the Night Sky

  1. I would like to know if I could use the second picture down as a cover for a book I’m writing. I’ll make sure to mention your name on wherever you put that stuff. I’m not sure, I don’t know how the layout works. But I love the photos!

    Like

    1. Hey Jacob!
      Thanks for the complement! That’s pretty awesome that you are writing a book. I’d like to know more about it.
      I’ma shoot you an email in the morning with a couple questions.

      Like

  2. great work with the night skies. it’s not easy. thanks for stopping by and checking out my work. looking forward to seeing more of yours. JT

    Like

    1. Thanks! Unfortunately, these are the best shots so far, lol.
      Best advice in no particular order:

      Use a DSLR with a customizable timer so you can choose the time that works best with your specific setting. I usually do 15 – 30 sec, but it depends. For star trails, my friends have a device that allows for the shutter to be open for hours without being monitored.

      Check the calendar before going out. The moon is very luminous and will make the stars fade and the landscape look like day. Best pictures of the stars will be during the new moon when it is not there at all.

      Always use a tripod… that’s a given.

      A 50mm lens works great because of the larger aperture.

      A flashlight can be used to light up the landscape as needed.

      It’s a very time consuming process and may take a couple nights to get the perfect shot, but never give up!
      Might also be a good idea to look up information and tips regarding the specific type of astrophotography you are interested in capturing.

      Best of luck!

      Like

  3. Beautiful and sensual. I think the images may not be what we see, but they are closer to what we feel when we think of night. Nice work.

    Like

  4. Lovely shots! And thanks so much for stopping by and liking my photo post the other day 🙂 I just started blogging and so this is all very new to me… kinda scary in a way to be so vulnerable and put your life and work out there for all to see. Keep up the beautiful work. Amanda x

    Like

  5. Gorgeous photos Ms. J – I’m hoping to get some star photos as well (someday). BF is THE photographer, but I love looking at others work and getting inspirations. Yours are great. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Like

  6. I messaged you on Facebook, but would like permission to use “Pretty Night Sky” for the back cover on my book. It is called ” a close encounter of the fifth kind”, and yes, it is about aliens. I would love to use the picture with credits, of course. Please let me know as I am almost done importing and correcting the book cover with Indesign on .

    Like

  7. You are clearly a gifted photographer! As an amateur astronomer, I would strongly recommend that you consider submitting some of your night photos to Sky and Telescope Magazine. If you check out their website you can find out how to submit. Anyway, thanks for sharing and keep up the great work!

    Like

  8. There are certainly a lot of details like that to take into consideration. That is a great point to bring up. I offer the thoughts above as general inspiration but clearly there are questions like the one you bring up where the most important thing will be working in honest good faith. I don?t know if best practices have emerged around things like that, but I am sure that your job is clearly identified as a fair game. Both boys and girls feel the impact of just a moment?s pleasure, for the rest of their lives.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.